Home > Articles 2017-18

    Fauquier Wrestling News:

2017-18 Fauquier Wrestling Awards Program
by: Ted Proctor

2017-18 Fauquier Wrestling Awards Program
Joe Del Gallo in action at the 4A State Championship. Joe Del Gallo was named the 2017-18 Fauquier Wrestler MVP/Booster Award.

Fauquier wrestling team came together On Wednesday, March 7th to hand out the 2017-18 team awards at the winter sports recognition program. As the MVP award for all Fauquier winter sport teams were issued in Auditorium, teams then split off into different groups to hand out its additional awards. Below are the awards and wrestlers that were honored.

Team Awards:
MVP/Booster Award: Joe Del Gallo
4 Year Varsity Award: Kyle Budd, Joe Del Gallo, and Franco Camarca
Captains Award: Kyle Budd, Joe Del Gallo, Franco Camarca, and Sam Fisher
Most Improved Award: Ethan Jordon
Coaches Award: Kevin McEachin
Academic Award: Mitch Kuhns, Nick Walsh, and Kyle Budd
Team Award: Alex Bautista
Breakout Award: Casey Burr
Outstanding Rookie Award: Eric Dewald
Most Dominant Award: Sam Fisher
JV MVP Award: Tommy Heisler
Ironman Awards: Tyler Raymond and Sam Fisher

Other Stat Awards:
Most Team Points: Sam Fisher 266.5 (Tyler Raymond close second with 233)
Most Wins: Sam Fisher 41 (Tyler Raymond close second with 38)
Most Takedowns: Sam Fisher 128 (Franco Camarca second with 60)
Most Match Points: Sam Fisher 376 (Joe Del Gallo second with 230 and Gino Camarca third with 229)

Team Fauquier ended the 2017-18 campaign winning the Northwestern District Championships, taking a second place finish at Regions and 4A State Runner-up.

Coach Doug Fisher would like to give much thanks to the coaches, parents, managers, and the wrestlers for an outstanding season - But some special thanks goes out to Cheryl Budd for the hard work she does to assist with operations and management of the wrestling program.

Fauquier Past Post Season Results:
DISTRICT CHAMPIONS: 2018 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 1972 | 1971

REGION CHAMPIONS: 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010

STATE CHAMPIONS: 2016 | 2015 STATE RUNNER-UP: 2018 | 2017 | 2014 | 2009

Other related Links:
   Team Highlights - 2018 All Time Greatest Moments and Achievements

   All Time Greatest Moments and Achievements

FOLLOW US:   2017-18 SCHEDULE     HOME